If a file or folder can't be found in the original selected location, CrashPlan marks it as deleted.
CrashPlan routinely scans your file selection to determine what needs to be backed up. If a file has been moved or deleted from its location, CrashPlan will mark the file as “deleted”.
After a file has been marked as deleted, it remains in your backup archive for as long as your deleted file retention settings specify. If CrashPlan detects a file that was marked as deleted while scanning your file selection, it will no longer be marked as deleted.
For more information on deleted files, see our Deleted files FAQ.