I need to replace my device or continue my existing backup (CrashPlan for Small Business FAQ)

To get back up and running with CrashPlan for Small Business, you can use our automated process to replace your device. This process will be helpful if you are trying to:

  • Move a backup to a new computer
  • Replace an old computer
  • Replace your computer's main hard drive
  • Recover after an operating system reinstall

By reconnecting to the previous computer's backup archive, you avoid repeating the initial full backup. Follow the instructions below to replace your device.

To continue a backup which you had started on another computer, or which your current installation of CrashPlan has lost connection to:

If you have not already done so, you will first need to download and install the CrashPlan app onto the computer which you will be using to back up going forward.  When you install and sign in, a new backup device ID is created and added to the account.  

You will then need to associate the new CrashPlan app installation with the original device ID, using a process known as Device Replacement.

Steps

First, download and install the CrashPlan app using the steps below:

  1. Sign in to the CrashPlan console.
  2. Select App Downloads.
  3. Locate your operating system from the choices on the page and initiate the download

When you install and sign in to the CrashPlan app for the first time, you will be prompted to either Add New Device or Replace Existing. Select Replace Existing to begin the device replacement process. Next, select the device you wish to associate with this new installation and proceed.

Next you will be provided with the option to download files to the new computer, prior to finalizing the replacement. This can sometimes help to provide a smooth transition to backup after the replacement, though you’ll also have the option to restore data at any point after this process is complete.

If you would like to wait to download files from the cloud until a later time, select Skip File Transfer and accept the warning which indicates that files will be marked as deleted in the backup archive.

Then continue and select the option to Transfer Settings - This will download all prior backup settings to the new installation of CrashPlan, and then sign you out of the application to apply them.  When you sign back in, you will see the synchronization taking place, after which the CrashPlan app will resume its backup.

If you do not see the Replace Device option when you launch the CrashPlan app, you can access it again using the following method:

Windows:

  1. Open the CrashPlan app.
  2. At the top of the CrashPlan app window, click Tools and select Replace device

macOS:

  1. Open the CrashPlan app.
  2. In the macOS menu bar, click File and select Replace device

Linux:

  1. Open the CrashPlan app.
  2. In the Linux menu bar, click Tools and select Replace device
Was this article helpful?
0 out of 1 found this helpful