CrashPlan shows "Files not backing up on macOS" (CrashPlan for Small Business FAQ)

When you open the CrashPlan app on your device, you might see a dialog box that warns that files are not backing up on macOS. Due to Apple's privacy restrictions for files and folders containing personal data in macOS Mojave 10.14 and later, CrashPlan for Small Business cannot back up some files from locations like the desktop, Contacts, Photos, and Mail until you grant access to the CrashPlan app. To resolve this, you can use the steps below to grant access:

Step 1: Grant full disk access to the CrashPlan app

  1. Open System Preferences.
  2. Select Security & Privacy.
  3. Select the Privacy tab.
  4. If privacy settings are locked:
    1. Click the lock icon in the lower-left corner.
    2. Enter your device password.
    3. Click Unlock.
  5. In the left pane, select Full Disk Access. 
  6. In the right pane, click the + icon.
  7. Navigate to Applications > CrashPlan.
  8. Click Open.
    The following message appears: "CrashPlan" will not have full disk access until it is quit.
  9. Click Quit Now.
  10. (Optional) Click the lock in the lower-left corner to re-lock privacy settings.

Step 2: Restart your Mac

A restart will re-launch the CrashPlan app and confirm the appropriate settings. Select the Do not show this warning again checkbox to prevent the warning from appearing the next time you open the CrashPlan app. If you do not click the checkbox, the warning will continue to appear every time you open the CrashPlan app, even after you perform the recommended solution to grant full disk access.

Note: In the event of an operating system upgrade, full disk access permissions will sometimes fail to take effect. This can be resolved by removing CrashPlan from the list and adding it again as outlined in Step 1.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful